G-FORCE - 1980 - JET

G-Force image
Jack Bruce, Hunger, The Touch, Truk, Jan Akkerman, Joachim Kühn Band, Captain Beyond, Pipedream>>WILLIE DEE [WILLY DAFFERN]>>Philip Lynott, Willie Dee, ZoomlenZ, Hunger

Skidrow, Colosseum, Thin Lizzy, Dr. Strangely Strange>>GARY MOORE>>Greg Lake Band, Gary Moore, BBM, Scars

Smokey Robinson, The Mamas & The Papas, Motortown Revue, Tony Williams, Little Walter, John Lee Hooker, Stevie Wonder, Aretha Franklin, Joachim Kühn>>TONY NEWTON>>Solo

The Velvet Underground, Elf, Thin Lizzy, Ian Gillan Band, Philip Lynott>>MARK NAUSEEF>>Philip Lynott, Solo, Jack Bruce, Joachim Kühn, Dave Liebman, Jon Lord, Glenn Hughes

History & Biography
Ex-Thin Lizzy guitarist Gary Moore formed G-Force where he finally exercised control over his destiny. Having quit the more famous band, Moore moved to Los Angeles, recruited a new line-up and recorded an album. Newton was a Motown artist. Former Deep Purple man Glenn Hughes was initially given the vocalist and bassist spots, but left due to excessive drinking and fighting Moore. Jet Records issued the album, before Moore moved on to Greg Lake Band in 1981. Chris Tsangarides produced the sole album. The band was billed to appear at the Reading festival near London England in 1980, but was replaced by Slade instead.

Willie Dee was an alias for Willy Dufferin. Dufferin's first band Hunger had also renamed itself The Touch for one release. Drummer Mark Nauseef had introduced him to Moore.

The band toured with Whitesnake in the UK. The re-release of this album bears the title Gary Moore's G-Force. Don Airey was on keyboards and Tommy Aldridge on drums for the live work.