Iron Monkey>>The Dukes Of Nothing>>IRON MONKEY - UK

Iron Monkey - 1997 - Earache
Our Problem - 1998 - Earache
9-13 – 2017 - Relapse
Spleen & Goad - 2024 - Relapse

Iron Monkey image
John Paul Morrow>>Armour Of God, Mywar, Murder One, Tusken Coalition - Ironside, Hard To Swallow>>JAMES RUSHBY

Wartorn, Ironside>>James Rushby>>Hard To Swallow - Dean Berry>>Capricorns, Nukebirds – Acrimony>>Stuart O’Hara>>Sigiriya – Ironside, Phantom Limb Management, Armour Of God, Hard To Swallow, Geriatric Unit>>JAMES RUSHBY>>Phantom Limb Management, Armour Of God, Geriatric Unit

Ironside>>Douglas Campbell Dalziel>> – Desecrator, Helvis, Taken By Force, Colostomy, Cerebral Fix, Consumed, Ravens Creed, Chemical Crucifixion, Simian Steel>>STEVE WATSON>>Ravens Creed, Chemical Crucifixion, Simian Steel

Armour Of God, Hard To Swallow, Teeth Of Lion Rules The Divine>>Justin David Greaves>>Hard To Swallow, Teeth Of Lion Rules The Divine, Electric Wizard, Borknagar – My War, Chaos UK>>Brigga [Scott Briggs]>>Chaos UK - Widows>>ZE BIG [STEVE MELLOR]

History & Biography
Iron Monkey was Earache’s follow-up foray into doom metal and sludge after Cathedral. The band was based in Nottingham and gained some notoriety when its second album contained several 'silent' tracks. The band issued an EP called We’ve Learned Nothing in 1999 and a split CD with Church Of Misery later in that year. Following the Dynamo Festival appearance in The Netherlands, Iron Monkey would tour Europe as support to Pro-Pain. Replacing the departed James Rushby was ex-Acrimony guitarist Stuart O'Hara.

Former vocalist Johnny Morrow was found dead in his flat on June 22nd, 2002 following a period of heart and kidney failure. Drummer Greaves didn’t have to go far artistically to join Electric Wizard.

The band played several shows as The Dukes Of Nothing when O’Hara went ill mid-tour in 1999. Iron Monkey broke up in 1999. Iron Monkey’s Our Problem and Iron Monkey albums were reissued by Earache Records as one package in June of 2009. There were several bonus tracks. The group reformed at the beginning of 2017. Relapse Records signed the group. The band was at Moot Group studio recording an album. A Mr. Brigga was on drums now. Iron Monkey’s 9-13 came after some twenty years of absence. The album was issued through Relapse Records in October. Ze Big of Widows became the drummer in 2018. Iron Monkey returned with the Spleen & Goad album, which was issued through Relapse Records in April of 2024.



Iron Monkey